The Country Music Hall Of Fame Inducts A New Class

The Country Music Hall of Fame inducted a new class this weekend, including Hank Williams Jr., Marty Stuart and songwriter Dean Dillon.

The event took place at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum’s CMA Theater, with stars like George Strait, Alan Jackson, Kenny Chesney and Eric Church on hand to pay tribute to the Hall of Fame’s 2020 class.

George and Kenny paid tribute to Dillon, with George performing “The Chair,” while Kenny performed Dillon’s 2002 hit “A Lot of Things Different,” which he co-wrote with Bill AndersonBrittney Spencer also paid tribute to Dillon with her take on “Tennessee Whiskey,” most recently made famous by Chris Stapleton.

Emmylou Harris and Charlie Worsham collaborated on “Tempted” to pay tribute to Stuart, while Ashley McBryde performed “The Observation of a Crow.” “The question gets asked, how do you describe this moment?” he said in his acceptance remarks. “Well, this is the ultimate. There’s this, and there’s everything else.”

Finally, Eric, Alan and Shooter Jennings, paid tribute to Hank Jr., who was being inducted 60 years after his father Hank Williams, Sr. became a member. Shooter kicked things off with “Feelin’ Better,” followed by Eric, who played Hank Jr.’s “A Country Boy Can Survive,” and Alan who performed “The Blues Man.”

“Well, the good thing is, this didn’t happen yesterday, which was the opening day of deer season,” Hank Jr. joked while accepting his honor. He then referenced some of his biggest hits sharing, “’All my rowdy friends’ are coming over tonight. I was ‘born to boogie,’ and this,” motioning to his just-unveiled Hall of Fame plaque, is a ‘family tradition.'”

  • This weekend’s induction was for the 2020 class, which was postponed by the pandemic. The 2021 class, Ray Charles, the Judds, and musicians Eddie Bayers and Pete Drake, will be inducted next year.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.