Today is Election Day

Today (11/5) is Election Day with local races on the ballot.  There are no contested races in Oskaloosa, as Mayor David Krutzfeldt and three city council members are running unopposed.  Likewise, the Oskaloosa School Board has four candidates for the four available seats.  Pella voters will elect a new mayor, as James Mueller isn’t running for re-election; City Councilman Bruce Schiebout and Donald DeWaard are running to succeed Mueller.  Also in Pella, there are three candidates for one at-large City Council seat—with incumbent Tony Bokhoven challenged by Chris Meyers and Liz Sporrer.

New Sharon is also electing a new mayor, with Councilman Jeff Long and Dennis Currier looking to succeed Keri Lamberson.  Grinnell, Montezuma, Searsboro and Barnes City also have mayoral elections today.  And there are school board elections for North Mahaska, Montezuma, Tri-County, Lynnville-Sully, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont and Grinnell-Newburg.

Voters in Beacon will also decide if they want to change the way the city uses tax dollars from local sales tax.  Should all the revenue from local sales tax go directly to the general fund or continue the current system of 70 percent for municipal uses and 30 percent for the city hall fund.

Polls are open until 8pm today across Iowa.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.