TAG SEARCH RESULTS FOR: "state wrestling"

Area State Wrestling Qualifiers

Saturday was a huge day of district wrestling around Iowa as 37 area wrestlers punched their ticket to the State Wrestling Tournament at Wells Fargo Arena.

17 teams representing 19 schools will have at least one wrestler at the big dance looking to get on the podium.

Here is the full list of the wrestlers involved:

Newton – Blayden Rhone (182), Jaise Gulling (195), Gage Linahon (220)
Ottumwa – Joey Mitchell (182)
Pella – Ryan Hancock (113)

Albia – Aden Reeves (120), Ben Mason (195)
EBF – Tyler Landgrebe (120)
Grinnell – Brock Beck (113)
Knoxville – Coby Meyer (170), Chase Bellon (220)
PCM – Landon Fenton (106), Chase Shirk (126), Colby Tool (138), Wes Cummings (160), Lucas Roland (170), Jarron Trausch (182)

English Valleys – Seth Thompson (120), Caleb Peach (170)
Lynnville-Sully – Josh Dunsbergen (138)
Montezuma – Grant Battreall (285)
Moravia – Wil Martin (113), Nicholas Martin (145)
North Mahaska – Jarrett Stodghill (132)
Pekin – Zach Hammes (132), Drake Harbison (138), Keaton Baayen (152), Kaden Baker (160), Mason Juhl (195)
Pleasantville – Evan Mann (195), Chaz Clark (220), Matthew Kauffman (285)
Sigourney/Keota – Mason Dye (106), Kaleb Reeves (220)
SE Warren/Melcher-Dallas – Alec Henderson (152), TJ Dierking (170), Colby Page (182)

You can hear State Wrestling Tournament coverage throughout the weekend starting Thursday morning on 99.5 FM/740 AM KMZN, radiokmzn.com, and the KMZN mobile app. Taylor Howard and Brett Sams will be on the call.

State Wrestling Day One Recap

It wasn’t the greatest day for Mahaska Zone Network area wrestlers on day one of the State Wrestling Tournament as several wrestlers were eliminated, however several survived to wrestle another day.  Class 1A action got the day started and for Sigourney Keota, two of their four wrestlers advance on in the consolations as Kaleb Reeves at 182 lost 17-0 to #1 ranked Daniel Bishop of Hinton but came back strong to win by fall over Hunter Hagen of West Hancock and at 195 Noah Boender lost 9-2 to #1 ranked Landers Kuboushek of South Winnisheik but came back to win by fall over Mike Ward of East Union.   However, Luke House at 113 and Lane Boender at 145 both went 0-2 and have been eliminated.   Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont was able to advance both of their wrestlers through to Friday as Adam Proctor lost 5-1 then came back to win by fall in the consolations and Alex Hanna at 132 fell 14-2 to #2 ranked Drake Halblum of Alburnett then bounced right back to win by fall over Ty Joint of West Central Valley.   Moravia had a strong day as Nicholas Martin won 1-0 over Michael Egan of MFL Marmac,  Briar Cochran won by major decision 14-2 over Bo Giese of Logan Magnolia and 220 pounder Quinton Casteel lost 5-3 in overtime but bounced back in the consolations to win by fall over Nick Perkins of East Mills so all three advance on to Friday’s quarterfinals and second round consolations.  Both of North Mahaska’s  and Tri County-Montezuma’s wrestlers have been eliminated as Tyler Strasser at 120 and Jarrett Stodghill at 126 for North Mahaska  each went 0-2 , although Stodghill gave a great fight in both losses,  and Hunter Foubert at 220 and Travis Lewis at 126 for T-C-M both went 0-2.  And for English Valleys, top ranked Zach Axmear at 152 won by fall to advance while Cooper Andreassen at 106 lost his first match but won big by technical fall in the consolations. Class 1A Quarterfinals and second round consolation matches get underway at 9am Friday.

It wasn’t a good day for Oskaloosa or Ottumwa in Class 3A as Oskaloosa lost two of their three wrestlers and Ottumwa lost five of their seven.  For Oskaloosa Josh Diehl at 113 went 0-2 losing 15-3 and 5-4,  4th ranked Callan Tomlin at 220 lost two close matches 3-2 and 2-1 in double overtime and has also been eliminated,  however Drew Sams at 132 is still alive.  7th ranked Sams lost his opener to #2 Grant Stotts of West Des Moines Valley in a tight match 3-2 then dominated in the consolation round winning 10-1 to advance to Friday’s second round consolations.    Ottumwa got opening round wins from Alec Clark at 120 and Isaiah Cox at 182,  however Johnathan Morales at 126,  Collin McConnell at 138, Justus Skinner at 145, Wyatt Schlotter at 152 and Tyler Bookin-Nosbisch all went 0-2 and have been eliminated.

And in Class 2A action,  Albia went 4-4 advancing all four to the quarterfinals as Aden Reeves at 106 received a medical forfeit,  Bryce Leshen at 145 won 9-3,  Blake Lawless at 152 won 14-3 and heavyweight Carter Isley won by fall.  Other first round area winners included Xavier Miller of PCM at 145,  Levi Duwa of Mid Prairie at 220, and Tanner Hoffstetter at heavyweight for Grinnell.  After losing their first matches,   Joe Simon of Grinnell at 106,  Duncan McCain of Mid Prairie at 113,  Lucas Roland of PCM at 138,  and Wes Cummings of PCM at 152 all fought back to gain consolation wins and advance.  Walker Henderson of Davis County,  Jarron Trausch of PCM,  Dylan Henderson of Davis County, Jordan Beal of Knoxville and Travis Poffenbarger of Knoxville all have been eliminated.  Action resumes Friday at 9am with Class 3A and 1A quarterfinal and second round consolation matches.  You can hear another full day of live coverage from each session with Jamie Brockman and Brett Sams on 99.5 FM or 740 AM KMZN or listen online at radiokmzn.com or use the KMZN mobile app.   Our coverage begins at 8:45am today from Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.