Repeat Winners Filled the Night on Yaw’s Auto Salvage Night

Oskaloosa, Iowa (June 21st, 2017) – Another beautiful night of racing action at the Southern Iowa Speedway for Yaw’s Auto Salvage Night, 51 cars signed in the pit area. The Kids got to have some fun at Intermission as they got to take a little field trip through the pit area to see the drivers and crews putting the finishing touches on the race cars for the features. Hobby Stocks still had the $300 bounty on the line, if they can beat Shannon Anderson, thanks to Edel Lawn Service, Cindy Drost and Independent Auto of Marshalltown.

Trent Orwig was the only first time winner by grabbing the IMCA Sport Compacts. Curtis VanDerWal (Sport Mods), Cayden Carter (Stock Cars), Shannon Anderson (Hobby Stocks) and Scott Dickey (Modifieds).

First feature of the night was the 12 lap Kelli Steli State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Levi Heath and Nathan Moody led the field to the green flag and it was Moody grabbing the top spot on lap one. Moody saw Trent Orwig wrestle the lead away on lap two. Orwig went on to take his first win of the season at the monster. Moody finished second ahead of Austin Reuman, Bryan Claussen and Ashley Reuman.

Austin Paul started inside row two but by the end of lap one in the Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods 16 lap feature event, Paul was the leader. Paul slipped a bit allowing Curtis VanDerWal, who started fifth, to take the top spot away on lap three. VanDerWal began to pull until cautions came out on lap six for Tony Johnson in turn two and then again on lap 12 for Steven Berry. VanDerWal was not going to let the cautions faze him as he headed on to take his fifth win at his hometown track. Paul held of Logan Anderson for second. Jason McDaniel was fourth and Blaine Webster was fifth.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 16 lap feature event was next up on the speedway. Danny Thrasher and Derrick Agee led the field to the green and it was the Agee wrestling the top spot away. Thrasher did not give up as he was able to grab the top spot away from Agee on lap four. Thrasher started to look comfortable but Cayden Carter worked his way from the fifth place starting spot to second. Carter grabbed the top spot away from Thrasher on lap eight and cruised on to take his second win in the Stock Cars at Osky. Thrasher finished second, Nathan Wood was third, Dustin Griffiths passed Mike Hughes on the last lap to claim fourth with Hughes in fifth.

Bradley Graham took advantage of the pole postition starting spot of the KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature by grabbing the early lead. Graham and the field saw the caution out just after lap two scored in the books when Dave Seddon spun exiting turn four collecting Nick Ulin and Matt Smith. Graham appeared he was not going to let that both him as he got a great restart but so did ninth place starter Shannon Anderson, who was working his way through the field. Anderson grabbed the top spot away from Graham on lap seven. Anderson led the remaining laps taking the win keeping him perfect, seven for seven in Osky. Anderson now has 21 wins on the season and 303 IMCA wins in his career. Graham settled for second, Veteran Bill Bonnett came home third, Jamie Songer was fourth and Steve Allen was fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 16 lap feature event. Just like he did one week before, Scott Dickey led from start to finish. Dickey saw several challenges by Cayden Carter early but every attempt failed as Dickey went on take his second win of the season in Osky. Carter, Colt Mather, Jesse Dennis and Zack Rawlins finished second through fifth.

Next Wednesday Night started a busy seven days at the Southern Iowa Speedway, Wednesday will be Community 1st Credit Union Night at the Races. IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts are all taking to the monster half mile. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

Then on Monday July 3rd and Tuesday July 4th, the speedway hosts 22nd Annual IMCA Budweiser Stock Car Shootout presented by Budweiser and Musco Lighting. Stock Cars will have qualifying, two sets of heat races on Monday Night with the top eight locked in on Tuesday. Tuesday Night the Stock Cars will have Heats, Last Chance Races and feature for $2,500 to win. IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Mods and IMCA Hobby Stocks $1,000 to win and IMCA Sport Compacts $500 to win on Monday and Tuesday with a complete show each night. Hot Laps will be at 6pm and Racing at 6:30pm.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Yaw’s Auto Salvage Night
June 21st, 2017

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

Feature – 1. 40 Scott Dickey, Packwood; 2. 10C Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 3. 8 Colt Mather, Keswick; 4. 70 Jesse Dennis, Prescott; 5. 237 Zack Rawlins, Newton; 6. 3W Garrett Wilson, Carlisle; 7. 66 Gordon Head, Des Moines.

Heat – 1. Dickey; 2. Carter; 3. Mather; 4. Dennis; 5. Rawlins; 6. Wilson; 7. Head.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

Feature – 1. 10C Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 2. 84 Danny Thrasher, Agency; 3. 52 Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 4. 10G Dustin Griffiths, Hedrick; 5. 11 Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa; 6. 14 Derrick Agee, Huntsville, Mo.; 7. 79S Jason See, Albia; 8. 54 Mike Brown, New Sharon; 9. 3 Travis Bunnell, Hedrick; 10. 73C Carl Yaw Jr., Pleasant Hill.

Heat – 1. Thrasher; 2. Agee; 3. Hughes; 4. Carter; 5. Wood; 6. See; 7. Bunnell; 8. Brown; 9. Yaw; 10. Griffiths.

Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods

Feature – 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal, Oskaloosa; 2. A5 Austin Paul, Monroe; 3. 9A Logan Anderson, Eddyville; 4. 85 Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 5. 07 Blaine Webster, Ottumwa; 6. 84B Trent Brink, Bussey; 7. 8T Tony Johnson, Oskaloosa; 8. 55R Steven Berry, Ottumwa; 9. 10H Jack Housley, Runnells; 10. 29 Colton Livezey, New Sharon.

Heat – 1. VanDerWal; 2. Brink; 3. Anderson; 4. McDaniel; 5. Paul; 6. Livezey; 7. Berry; 8. Housley; 9. Johnson; 10. Webster.

KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature – 1. 78 Shannon Anderson, Des Moines; 2. 4 Bradley Graham, Brooklyn; 3. 19 Bill Bonnett, Knoxville; 4. 96R Jamie Songer, Ankeny; 5. 3S Steve Allen, Oskaloosa; 6. 09 Daniel Wauters, Iowa City; 7. 14 Christian Huffman, New Sharon; 8. 12 Mike Kincaid, Cincinnati; 9. 73 Aaron Martin, Richland; 10. 81B Thomas Stevens, Guernsey; 11. 89R Ryan Wells, Runnells; 12. 65 Saif Grafke, Oskaloosa; 13. 13M Riley Meinders, Oskaloosa; 14. 9 Jared Stephens, Bussey; 15. 71S Dave Seddon, Knoxville; 16. 21 Nick Ulin, Agency; 17. 74 Matt Smith, Des Moines.

Heat 1 – 1. Graham, 2 Allen; 3. Kincaid; 4. Wauters; 5. Seddon; 6. Martin; 7. Meinders; 8. Stevens; 9. Stephens.

Heat 2 – 1. Anderson; 2. Huffman; 3. Ulin; 4. Bonnett; 5. Songer; 6. Smith; 7. Wells; 8. Grafke.

Kelli Steil State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature – 1. 04 Trent Orwig, Ottumwa; 2. 41 Nathan Moody, Oskaloosa; 3. 8R Austin Reuman, Hills; 4. 01C Bryan Claussen, Eddyville; 5. 4R Ashley Reuman, Hills; 6. 15 Clayton Webster, Ottumwa; 7. 9H Levi Heath, Wilton.

Heat – 1. Orwig; 2. Heath; 3. Austin Reuman; 4. Moody; 5. Ashley Reuman; 6. Webster; 7. Claussen.

Story provided by Jeremy Fox


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.