Paul Claims First In Osky On Community 1st Credit Union Night

Oskaloosa, Iowa (June 15th, 2016) – Another Hot Summer Night brought some hot racing action at the Southern Iowa Speedway on Wednesday Night. 48 race teams checked in to tame the monster half mile.

Austin Paul Claims first win in the IMCA SportMods, meanwhile Cayden Carter (IMCA Stock Cars), Colt Mather (IMCA Modifieds) and Danny Thrasher (IMCA Hobby Stocks) repeat winners from last week. Shane Evans (IMCA Sport Compacts) claims his first since Season Opener.

First feature of the night was the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature and the first three laps there was three different leaders. Lincoln Schrock led lap one, John Whalen lap two and Shane Evans took the top spot on lap three. Evans was able to gap himself from John Whalen to cruise on to taking his first win at Osky since the season opener. Bill Whalen Jr got by his brother John Whalen for second with two to go. Schrock came home in fourth and Jason Breuklander was fifth.

Bobby Greene and Steve Allen led the field to the green in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature but by the end of lap one it was Nick Ulin holding the top spot with fellow Agency driver Danny Thrasher in second. Ulin led until the halfway point when Thrasher took the lead away and cruised off in the sunset to his second consecutive win. Ulin, Dustin Griffiths, Allen and August Bach rounded out the top five.

Up next was the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature event, originally scheduled for 18 laps but because only eight cars checked in the laps was redused to 16 laps. Mike Hughes grabbed the top spot early from his outside front row starting spot but it was the familiar Orange Crush car driven by Cayden Carter taking the top spot away on lap six. Carter cruised on to his seventh win in a row at Osky. Mike Hughes came home second, Derrick Agee was third, Louis Lynch was fourth and Todd Reitzler was fifth.

Austin Paul got the chance to move up to the outside front row in the 16 lap KBOE Radio IMCA SportMods feature event when Colton Livezey was not able to make the call after suffering heavy damage to the tail of his car in the heat race. Paul took advantage but held off Matthew VanGelder early and held off a hard charging Curtis VanDerWal to take his first win at Osky since August 5th, 2015. VanDerWal was second ahead of Carter VanDenBerg, VanGelder and Jason McDaniel.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds and just like the Stock Cars, the Modifieds feature was shorten to 16 laps. Scott Dickey appeared to be heading on to the win as he lead the first 13 laps but Points Leader Colt Mather grabbed the top spot away on lap 14 and went on to pick up the win ahead of Dickey, Zack Vanderbeek, North Carolina’s Kyle Strickler and California’s Cody Laney.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 18 lap feature event. Cayden Carter took the lead early but the only caution came out on lap six when Andrew Schroeder hit a tractor tire out on to the racing surface.  Carter continued to lead despite having Colt Mather and Zack Vanderbeek in tow, Mather would take the lead away on lap ten.  Mather would go on to take the win ahead of Cayden Carter, Jesse Dennis, Vanderbeek and Tyler Groenendyk.

Next Wednesday Night will be the Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Nutz Graphics and Monte Motor Parts. All five IMCA Classes are on the card with Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Community 1st Credit Union Night
June 15th, 2016
IMCA Modifieds
Feature – 1. 8 Colt Mather (Keswick); 2. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 3. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 4. 8S Kyle Strickler (Mooresville, NC); 5. 11 Cody Laney (Torrence, CA); 6. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 7. 174 Ethan Dotson (Bakersfield, CA)
Heat – 1. Mather; 2. Dickey; 3. Schroeder; 4. Vanderbeek; 5. Laney; 6. Strickler; 7. Dotson
IMCA Stock Cars
Feature – 1. 10CC Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 3. 14 Derrick Agee (Moberly, MO); 4. 71 Louis Lynch (Glenwood, MO); 5. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 6. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 7. 54 Mike Brown (New Sharon); 8. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney)
Heat – 1. Wood; 2. Carter; 3. Hughes; 4. Pearson; 5. Lynch; 6. Agee; 7. Reitzler; 8. Brown
IMCA SportMods
Feature – 1. A5 Austin Paul (Monroe); 2. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 3. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 4. 16 Matthew VanGelder (Pella); 5. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 6. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 7. 69JR Johnathan Logue (Boone); 8. 272 Ed Hamilton (Atlantic); 9. 26 Scott Brau (Brooklyn); 10. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa); DNS/11. 29 Colton Livezey (New Sharon); DNS/12. 20 Danny Brau (Brooklyn)
Heat 1 – 1. McDaniel; 2. VanGelder; 3. VanDenBerg; 4. Logue; 5. Berry; 6. Scott Brau
Heat 2 – 1. Lowry; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Paul; 4. Hamilton; 5. Livezey; 6. Danny Brau
IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature – 1. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 2. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency); 3. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 4. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 5. 19X August Bach (Newton); 6. 32T Bobby Greene (Tracy); 7. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 8. 12 Mike Kincaid (Cincinnati); 9. 7K Kelsie Spilman (Hedrick); DNS/10. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville)
Heat – 1. Greene; 2. Griffiths; 3. Allen; 4. Thrasher; 5. Ulin; 6. Bach; 7. Huffman; 8. Kincaid; 9. Bonnett; 10. Spilman
IMCA Sport Compacts
Feature – 1. 92E Shane Evans (Iowa City); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr (Riverside); 3. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 4. 99 Lincoln Schrock (Wellman); 5. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 6. 23H Alex Hayes (Iowa City); 7. 86R James Roose (Grandview); 8. 41 Nathan Moody (Beacon); 9. 11H Brad Havel (Iowa City); 10. 53 Cody VanDusen (Atalissa); DNS/11. 13 Lukas Yoder (Kalona)
Heat 1 – 1. Evans; 2. John Whalen; 3. Breuklander; 4. Bill Whalen; 5. Moody; 6. Roose
Heat 2 – 1. Brad Havel; 2. Schrock; 3. VanDusen; 4. Hayes; 5. Yoder

Story provided by Jeremy Fox


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.