On The Track, The Next Stop Is Charlotte Motor Speedway

On the track, the next stop is Charlotte Motor Speedway for the thirty-second running of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday night. Denny Hamlin is the defending winner and is bidding to become just the third driver with back-to- back All-Star victories. Jimmie Johnson won in 2012 and 2013 while Davey Allison was victorious in 1991 and 1992.

The race will be run in three segments, fifty laps in the first two and then a thirteen-lap dash to the finish … There are to be mandatory green-flag pit stops during each of the first two segments. Prior to the final thirteen laps, a random draw will determine whether the top nine, ten or eleven cars will enter pit road for a mandatory four-tire stop. The other drivers will remain on the track on old tires to complete the race … Winner collects one million dollars … In addition to the fifteen drivers now eligible for the All-Star Race, the three winners from each segment of tonight’s Sprint Showdown preliminary race will transfer into Saturday’s main event along with the top two drivers voted in through fan balloting – bringing the All-Star starting field up to twenty drivers.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.