Next Stop Pocono Speedway

Next stop Pocono Speedway for Sunday’s Axalta “We Paint Winners” 400, the fourteenth race of the year that kicks off the second half of the Sprint Cup Series’ regular season. Martin Truex Junior is coming off a dominating victory last weekend in the Coca-Cola 600 and is the defending race winner at Pocono. The last driver with back-to- back victories in the track’s spring race was Jeff Gordon in 1996 and 1997 … With Truex’s victory Sunday night, the list of Sprint Cup race winners this season grew to eight. If there are nine more drivers who reach Victory Lane over the final thirteen regular-season races, then there’ll be one driver with a race win to his credit that will not get a spot on the 2016 Chase Grid – which will include only the sixteen top eligible drivers based primarily on race wins. There are three drivers who won last year but are still without a victory in 2016: Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt Junior and Joey Logano. Busch and Earnhardt are two-time winners at Pocono. Logano has one victory there, in 2012.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.