Kurt Busch Joins ‘Unlimited’ Field

Kurt Busch has joined Chase Elliott on the list of drivers newly eligible for next year’s Sprint Unlimited non-points special event as a result of their qualifying efforts in 2016. The non-points special event features pole winners from the previous season and traditionally kicks off Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway. Busch was awarded the Number-1 starting spot for this past weekend’s Folds of Honor Quik-Trip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway after Kyle Busch’s lap time was disallowed when the defending Sprint Cup champion failed to clear post-qualifying inspection. Kurt Busch finished fourth in Sunday’s race, one spot behind Kyle.

The Busch brothers will now head to their hometown of Las Vegas, Nevada, for Sunday’s Kobalt 400. Kyle won the 2009 race out there and has two poles on the mile-and-a-half oval. Kurt is winless with one pole to his credit. Jimmie Johnson leads all drivers with four wins in Vegas and Jack Roush tops the car owners with seven victories.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.