Farmers To Begin Nominating Eligible Candidate To FSA Committees

Farmers, ranchers, and other agricultural producers may begin nominating eligible candidates to serve on local Farm Service Agency county committees on June 15th, announced Wendi Denham, County Executive Director of the Mahaska County Farm Service Agency (FSA) Office.

FSA county committees make decisions on commodity price support loans, conservation programs, disaster programs, employing County Executive Directors and other significant agricultural issues. This year, Local Administrative Area 3 (LAA 3), which consists of White Oak, Spring Creek, Garfield, Madison, Adams and Monroe Townships will be selecting a representative for the Mahaska County Committee.

To hold office as a county committee member, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and be eligible to represent the LAA in which the person is a candidate, among other requirements. Individuals may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Additionally, organizations representing minorities and women may nominate candidates. All nominees must sign a nomination form, FSA-669A, which includes a statement that the nominee agrees to serve if elected.

Form FSA-669A is available at USDA Service Centers and online All nomination forms for the 2015 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on August 3, 2015.

Photo By Bob Ballard


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.