Fans and Drivers Remembers Loved Ones on Budweiser Memorial Night

by Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 16th, 2018) – Race fans and drivers donated money to the purse in memory of their loved ones that they have lost on Wednesday Night. Dean Sylvester Family, Yaw’s Auto Salvage, Friends & Family of the Late SIS Hall of Famer Aaron Brown #54, Huffman Fabrication, Scharky Frame, Ervin Edel, Chandler Family, Bradshaw Family and Sammons Family among some donating money on Memorial Night sponsored by Budweiser Doll Distributing at the Musco Lighting Southern Iowa Speedway presented by KBOE 104.9 FM.

Fifty-Eight cars signed in to race at the Southern Iowa Speedway including 11 Sport Compacts, 13 Stock Cars, 13 Sport Mods and 21 Hobby Stocks. Two New Faces made a trip to victory lane, Mike Hughes (Stock Cars) and Cayden Carter (Sport Mods) meanwhile Brandon Housley (Sport Compacts) repeats and Dustin Griffiths makes it two for three in the Hobby Stocks. 

First feature of the night was the Finish Line Auto Sales of Shellburg Sport Compacts feature event. Cody Phillips jumped out to the race lead from his second row starting spot passing Jason Breuklander and Nathan Moody. Phillips cruised away until a caution came out on lap nine forcing a green-white-checkered finish. Phillips had to contend with Brandon Housley and it was Housley making the right move on the last lap to take the win for the second week in a row. Phillips came across in second ahead of Kyle Boyd, Breuklander and Brandon Allison. 

The Midstate Machine Stock Cars lived up to the “Class Too Tough To Tame” as they battled for the top five spots the entire distance. Derrick Agee and Mike Hughes started on the front row and they were among that battle for the race lead through out the 16 lapper. Hughes managed to lead all the laps to take his first win and become the third different feature winner. Agee fell back to third but took back second when Cayden Carter pulled off. Dustin Griffiths worked his way from eighth to finish third, tenth place starter Nathan Wood finished fourth and Jason See came home in fifth.

Taylor Elliott and Logan Anderson led the field to the green in the 15 lap Carter’s Maufacturing / Van’s Racing Sport Mods feature event but it was neither of them taking the early lead, it was Blaine Webster. Webster tried to pull away but Cayden Carter, driving brother Brayton’s car worked his way to second on lap three. Webster slipped up and left the door open for Carter on lap six, Carter took advantage and took the lead away. Carter appeared heading to the easy win until the caution came out on lap 13 for Trent Brink in turn two. Carter had to contend with Curtis VanDerWal and Webster on the restart but he held them off to take the win and VanDerWal finish 2nd. With Carter taking the win it ended the 10 race weekly racing winning streak that VanDerWal had dating back to June 2017. Webster, Anderson and Jason Hall rounded out the top five. 

Final feature of the night was the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks feature. Dustin Griffiths grabbed the early race lead but a caution came out after lap two was in the books when Anthony Goldsberry came to a stop in turn four. Griffiths pulled away on the restart and was never challenged until a late race caution for Darin Dezwarte on backstretch forced a green-white-checkered. Griffiths determined to not lose as he got a great restart and went on to take the easy win, his second at SIS in the Hobby Stocks. Brock Hopwood was second, Craig Brown was third, 14th place starter Chanse Hollatz was fourth and Mike Kincaid was fifth. 

Next Wednesday Night, Fans and drivers will cast their votes for the 2018 Southern Iowa Speedway Hall of Fame Inductees. Copeland Auto Body & SS Mobile Blasting are the sponsors next week. Adults are just $8, Military & Veterans are $5, Kids (6-15) $3, 5 & Under Free. Stock Cars, Sport Mods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts are on the card with draw/redraw in all classes and last weeks feature winner starting at the back of the draw and redraw plus more chances for drivers to earn a free pit pass for future races . Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing to Follow. 

For more information Like Southern Iowa Speedway – Osky on Facebook.

Musco Lighting Southern Iowa Speedway presented by KBOE 104.9
Budweiser Doll Distributing Memorial Night
May 16th, 2018

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

 – 1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. 14 Derrick Agee (Moberly, MO); 3. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 4. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 5. 79S Jason See (Albia); 6. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 7. 54 Mike Brown (New Sharon); 8. 5M Cody McClure (Bloomfield); 9. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 10. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 11. 10CC Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 12. 409 Howard Gordon Jr. (Oskaloosa); 13. 4M Brett Lowry (Ottumwa).

Heat 1 – 1. Hughes; 2. Dickey; 3. See; 4. Brown; 5. Lowry; 6. Gordon.

Heat 2 – 1. Agee; 2. Wood; 3. Thrasher; 4. Carter; 5. Griffiths; 6. McClure; 7. Pearson. 

Carter’s Manufacturing / Van’s Racing Sport Mods

 – 1. 01 Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 3. 7 Blaine Webster (Ottumwa); 4. 53 Logan Anderson (Eddyville); 5. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 6. T16 Taylor Elliott (Webster City); 7. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 8. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa); 9. 84B Trent Brink (Bussey); 10. 5 Matt Beal (Oskaloosa); 11. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 12. 29 Colton Livezey (New Sharon); DNS 10H Jack Housley (Des Moines).

Heat 1 – 1. Webster; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Livezey; 4. Elliott; 5. Brink; 6. Berry; 7. Beal. 

Heat 2 – 1. Carter; 2. McDaniel; 3. Hall; 4. Anderson; DNS Housley; DNS Johnson. 

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

 – 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 2. 20H Brock Hopwood (Ottumwa); 3. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 4. 6 Chanse Hollatz (Clear Lake); 5. 12 Mike Kincaid (Cincinnati); 6. 73 Aaron Martin (Richland); 7. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 8. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 9. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 10. 7K Doug Sylvester (Ottumwa); 11. 55X Rick Goldsberry (Runnells); 12. 47 Darin Dezwarte (Knoxville); 13. 54 Jesse Williams (New Sharon); 14. 3T Tonia Stevens (Guersney); 15. 02 Mike Goldsberry (Runnells); 16. 27 Clint Nelson (Baxter); 17. 1R Rick Van Dusseldorp (Oskaloosa); 18. 13m Riley Meinders (Oskaloosa); 19. 55 Benji Clemons (Norwalk); 20. 18 Anthony Goldsberry (Runnells); DNS 42T Tyson Overton (Carlisle)

Heat 1 – 1. Hopwood; 2. Griffiths; 3. Brown; 4. Stevens; 5. Williams; 6. Clemons; 7. R. Goldsberry.

Heat 2 – 1. Martin; 2. Bunnell; 3. Huffman; 4. Van Dusseldorp; 5. Hollatz; 6. Sylvester; 7. Dezwarte.

Heat 3 – 1. Stanton; 2. Kincaid; 3. M. Goldsberry; 4. Nelson; 5. A. Goldsberry; 6. Overton; 7. Meinders.

Finish Line Auto Sales Sport Compacts

 – 1. 42 Brandon Housley (Ottumwa); 2. 03 Cody Phillips (Ottumwa); 3. 99 Kyle Boyd (Ottumwa); 4. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 5. 14A Brandon Allison (Oskaloosa); 6. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 7. 99B Trent Orwig (Ottumwa); 8. 2H James Haring (Oskaloosa); 9. 41 Nathan Moody (Oskaloosa); 10. 5 Tyler Haring (Oskaloosa); 11. 29 Billy Cain (Bloomfield). 

Heat 1 – 1. Housley; 2. Whalen; 3. Phillips; 4. Allison; 5. J. Haring; 6. Cain.

Heat 2 – 1. Boyd; 2. Breuklander; 3. Orwig; 4. Moody; 5. T. Haring.

Brandon Housley #42 Sport Compact – 5/16 Winner


Cayden Carter #01 Sport Mod Winner – 5/16


Dustin Griffiths #10G Hobby Stock Winner – 5/16


Mike Hughes #11 Stock Car Winner – 5/16


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.