Denny Hamlin Extends Joe Gibbs Racing Sprint Unlimited Streak

SPRINT UNLIMITED: Denny Hamlin extended Joe Gibbs Racing’s recent run of success in the Sprint Unlimited on Saturday night by delivering the organization’s third straight victory in the non-points special event and its fourth in five years. Hamlin, who started fifteenth in the twenty-five-car field, pulled away on an overtime restart to notch his second Unlimited win in three years and third overall. A late caution for a five-car accident along the backstretch sent the race four laps past its scheduled distance. Hamlin’s Number-11 Toyota led a race-high thirty-nine laps including the final sixteen trips around Daytona International Speedway’s two-point-five-mile oval.

Defending Daytona 500 winner Joey Logano finished second with Paul Menard, Kyle Larson and Casey Mears completing the top five. Pole sitter Jimmie Johnson was involved in an accident early in the second half of the race and finished twenty-second … Matt Kenseth, one of Hamlin’s teammates at J-G-R, placed twelfth in his bid for back-to-back wins in the season-opening event … Reigning Sprint Cup Series champion Kyle Busch started ninth and finished seventeenth, sidelined by a wreck less than ten laps from the finish … Brian Vickers, subbing for the injured Tony Stewart, placed twenty-fourth.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.