Dejong Scores First, Agee Repeats At Southern Iowa Speedway

By:  Jerry Mackey

Oskaloosa, Iowa: The Southern Iowa Speedway located on the Mahaska County Fairgrounds in Oskaloosa held the second night of the 2022 racing season on Wednesday as temperatures set new record highs in Oskaloosa. Mahaska Bottling hosted kids night with all kids receiving a free new product from Pepsi called Hog Wash. A swift night of racing action was held with the final checkered waving at 9:50 pm

The Oskaloosa Quality Rentals Sportmod feature was only slowed one time for a minor caution as Maguire Dejong bolted into the lead from his front row starting position. Dejong was really dialed in and proved to be to strong for a very strong field of competitors. Dejong took the checkers in the 16 lap main event well ahead of Logan Anderson, who battled late in the main event with Brayton Carter.

The Midstates Machine Stock Car feature went green flag to flag and provided the fans with a thrilling race for the lead. Nathan Wood led the majority of the race but could not hold back defending track champion Derrick Agee in the late stages. Agee was able to chase down leader, Wood despite the 52 of Wood having a large lead. The two Osky veterans raced side by side for a few laps before Agee was able to go two for two in 22 with the win. Wood took second ahead of Jason McDaniel.

The Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks ran their feature last on Wednesday night. In the early going it appeared that Osky racer Rick VanDusseldorp, was going to be the man to beat. But a couple of incidents involving Van Dusseldorp ruined his chances for the victory. Aaron Martin finished 2021 on a high note and has continued his strong Osky runs with a feature win on Wednesday night. Martin held off another perennial Osky front runner, Dustin Griffiths for the win. Keaton Gordon turned in another fine run with a strong third place finish.

Another repeat feature winner, Terry Bickford, took the Dirt N Asphalt feature win in the 10 lap main event on Wednesday night. Bickford makes a long tow on Wednesday nights from far Southwest Iowa to compete at the Mahaska County Monster ½ mile. Bickford battled several laps in the main event with Matt Moore, the two Sport Compact drivers raced the big track door to door for several laps before Bickford was able to secure the point late in the main. Lewie Winkleman raced to a third place finish.

Ben Woods scored the win in the Clow Valve non-wing sprint car feature on Wednesday night. Woods held off Jonathan Hughes, the 2020 SIS track champion, in scoring the win. Woods took the lead early in the race from the eventual third place finisher Doug Sylvester.

Wednesday, May 18 will be Memorial Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway. Fans, drivers and crew members will have the opportunity to donate funds for a finishing position in any class in memory of those in our racing family who have left us. Hot laps will take to the track at 7:15 with racing to follow.

Wednesday, May 11 Southern Iowa Speedway Feature Results (top Five)

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

  1. 30M Maguire Dejong-Montezuma
  2. 53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville
  3. 1V Curtis Vanderwal-Oskaloosa
  4. 01 Brayton Carter-Oskaloosa
  5. 15K Kyle Harwood-New Sharon

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

  1. 14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO
  2. 52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney
  3. 85 Jason McDaniel-Eldon
  4. 17 Steve Byers-Indianola
  5. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

  1. 73 Aaron Martin-Delta
  2. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick
  3. 77 Keaton Gordon-Ottumwa
  4. 01 Austin Barnes-Des Moines
  5. 88H Kale Hemsley-Sigourney

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

  1. 63 Terry Bickford-Shannon City
  2. 2M Matt Moore-Ottumwa
  3. 62 Lewie Winkleman-New Sharon
  4. 2H James Haring-Oskaloosa
  5. 0 Bob (Gabby) Hayes-New Sharon

Clow Valve Non-Wing Sprints

  1. 11 Ben Woods-Newton
  2. 67 Jonathan Hughes-Knoxville
  3. 12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa
  4. 717 Garrett Alexander-Russell
  5. 25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick  


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.